Bill Clinton to Present the Island Innovation Awards

Island Innovation, a global network/social enterprise that connects island stakeholders to drive sustainable change across the islands, is partnering with Bill Clinton to present the Island Innovation Awards.

According to Loop, Bill Clinton’s Clinton Global Initiative and Island Innovation’s award show will recognize individuals, organizations, and technologies that are creating positive change for remote and island communities globally. The Island Initiative is currently looking for applicants to nominate; the deadline is Tuesday, February 15, 2022.

The jury that will review the applicants are as follows:

  • James Michel, the Former President of the Republic of the Seychelles
  • Former President of Kiribati, Anote Tong
  • Christine Milne, the current Global Greens Ambassador, former Leader of the Australian Greens, and the former Senator for Tasmania
  • The UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for the OceanUN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for the Ocean, Peter Thompson
  • Tavish Scott, Chief Executive Officer, Scottish Salmon Producers Organisation, and former Scottish Government MSP
  • Racquel Moses, CEO of The Caribbean Climate-Smart Accelerator
  • Dr Marcella Nunez-Smith, Associate Professor of Medicine, Public Health, Yale School of Medicine & The COVID-19 Equity Task Force Chair for President Biden
  • Daniel Kammen, the Professor of Energy at the University of California and Former Science Envoy, US Department of State
  • Sir Hilary Beckles, Vice-Chancellor, University of the West Indies
  • Fekitamoeloa Katoa ‘Utoikamanu, Former High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States
  • Maria Concepción, Program Manager, Oxfam America
  • Henk Rogers, President, Blue Planet Alliance
  • Zi Donnya Piggott, Co-Founder and CEO at Pink Coconuts – LGBTQ Travel Tech & LGBTQ Advocate
  • Celeste Connors, CEO and Executive Director, Hawaii Local2030 Hub and Hawaii Green Growth and former Director for Climate Change and Environment, National Security Center at The White House
  • Professor Godfrey Baldacchino, President, International Small Islands Studies Association (ISISA); and Thematic Ambassador for Islands and Small States
  • Raijeli Nicole, Regional Director Pacific, Oxfam in the Pacific

For more information on the Island Innovation Awards, click here.

Until Next Time…


Photo Credit: Clinton Foundation

President Bill Clinton launches the Island Innovation Awards 2021. LOOP. (2021, October 28). Retrieved December 28, 2021, from 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s